top of page

Special Diet Thanksgiving


In honor of the holiday this week, I thought I would feature a post on cooking and baking foods to meet a special diet, whatever that may be for you. This can be very tricky when you are having a large gathering, but with COVID this year I'd like to think it will be easier for those of us with restrictions to accommodate a smaller group or simply cook for ourselves.


For me, I am just going to my mother's to eat with her and my brothers, like I do every weekend. My mom loves to cook, or she used to at least, so she'll be dominating the kitchen while the rest of us wait to feast. I've never personally been a huge fan of Thanksgiving food since it's rich and hearty, but I can surprisingly eat a good portion of it. I don't struggle with rolls like some with gluten intolerance might, so the bread is a given for me. I do well with vegetables as long as they're cooked so I can have green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, you name it! I also can consume white meat so turkey works as long as I cut it in small pieces and chew thoroughly to help it digest easier. What if you can't have these dishes as is?


While I haven't tried it myself, many vegans and vegetarians eat tofurkey for Thanksgiving. I imagine the flavor is quite different, since you don't usually make tofu to imitate turkey meat, but it's popular enough that people make it every year, so I say it's worth a shot. Here's a recipe for a tofu roast you can make as a tukey replacement. My family is cooking ham this year, which I can't eat since it's red meat, but my mom is going to pick up a rotisserie chicken for us. I love that and hardly buy it myself, due to the expense, so I'm excited!

Often times the cream in Thanksgiving food is what really gets people's tummies upset. Luckily, this can be replaced with milk alternatives to keep the fullness of the dish similar and the taste still scrumptious. Here are some examples of recipes with other options you can use. Don't forget to purchase some vegan butter to replace regular butter and syrup to replace honey. Agave nectar works great as an alternative to sugar and coconut or almond flour to wheat flour.


What about dessert?! Most people think of pie, which has gluten in the crust if you're making it the traditional way, and tons of sugar and cream to boot! Another easier option is a no bake pumpkin tart with dates in the filling and walnuts in the crust. You could also make a vegan cheesecake with vegan cream cheese.

Regardless of whether you are suffering from Gastroparesis and a hiatal hernia like me, IBS, UC, Crohn's, Interstitial Cystitis, or just follow a vegan, Paleo, Keto, Whole 30, or other specialized diet, there are recipes out there that can be made to fit your specific needs. It can be tough to ask relatives to accommodate you with what they make, but if you do potluck style you can always make something yourself that you know you can eat. If you don't cook then ask someone who you know will be willing to work with you if you can send over a recipe that fits your needs or offer a modification to something you know they like to make. No one wants to be the Karen who is complaining about the food, but it's 2020 and so many of us have digestion or inflammation difficulties here in the US, so it shouldn't be too much to ask for a special dish on your behalf. We're all just doing what we can to survive this year so comfort food can really do the body and soul some good right now! I just rub some digestive essential oils on my belly right before I eat and I'm good to go. I got my latest shipment just in time for the feast!

What do you plan to create this year? Feel free to share any suggestions or favorite recipes below. :)

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page