top of page

May is Pelvic Pain Awareness Month!



Here it is, the month which compiles together all of the many pain conditions we discuss on my page. How exciting! Regardless of which 1 (or 2 or 3) you have you may finding like minded individuals in the pelvic pain community can really ease the strain of living with chronic conditions. Read on to learn how to connect with others and what to do to improve your situation.


Some common pelvic pain conditions I cover here are Vaginismus, Vulvodynia (Vestibulodynia and other variants included), Endometriosis, Adenomyosis, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, Fibromyalgia, Lichen Sclerosis, Incontinence, Pelvic Organ Prolapse, Fibroids, Pudendal Neuralgia, Scoliosis, Sciatica, and I'm sure more to come once I've hit the one year mark! So why is it that women have so many more possible health conditions concerned with the pelvis compared to men? Simply put, we have a complex reproductive system that leaves a lot of room for error. In addition to that, we also endure heavy loads to the body, whether from society or circumstances, such as carrying a purse daily, lugging groceries, children, childbirth itself, and skin sensitivities due to no regulation of ingredients in the products designed for our most intimate parts.

How do you cope with pelvic pain? I recommend a 3 pronged approach: education, stretching, and self care.

The best ways to educate yourself are researching and reading both the science behind what is happening to your body and what fellow sufferers do to combat it. I suggest following hashtags for your conditions on Instagram, listening to podcasts, and reading books others have found worthwhile. I review a few helpful books here. Some renowned ones are A Headache in the Pelvis, Healing Pelvic Pain, and The Camera my Mother Gave Me. General pelvic health Instagram accounts that I like to holler out to are @the.happy.pelvis, @pelvisibility, @thepelvicwarrior, and @pelvichealthguru. There are many more out there for specific conditions as well, so I guarantee there is someone on social media making jokes, comics, complaining, and commiserating with your experience. As for podcasts, you can check out Tight Lipped, The V Hive, and V.&Me: Vaginismus-Let's Name it not Shame it.


Stretching is honestly underrated. Sure, none of us really want to take the time to do it and I know I certainly don't have the patience to hold my position for a whole minute, but it really does make a world of difference. Besides relaxing the body, stretching can help loosen your pelvic floor muscles which will provide some relief to the issues which ail you. You can read one of my early blogs here for a few stretches that were assigned to me as homework from a physical therapist as well as a book recommendation for more solid moves.

Self care means almost anything these days. When I use this term I am referring to whatever actions you need to take to provide your body with relief from pain. Some people swear by heating pads. I'm more into cooling sensations myself and use a cooling oil as well as cooling pantiliners. Another tried and true practice is taking a bubble or Epsom salt bath. Epsom salts contain Magnesium which works to ease muscle tension and you can also buy scented ones like coconut, elderberry, mint, or citrus to really pamper yourself. A book I read recently described painting your nails as self care and it kind of blew my mind, because I do this weekly and had never thought of it that way. It really has nothing to do with making my nails look nice, or I'd just get them done professionally. It's all about the process of painting being soothing for me. Adult coloring books stimulate the same desire, just a soft stroking motion which elicits repetition in a peaceful way. I do product reviews often to help spread the word about anything I purchase and try that helps in some way, whether that be lubricants, sex toys, creams, clothing, or period products. I think it's important to tell as many people as possible when you find something that works because the secret needs to be let out! Tell the world and one less woman will be suffering from your good deed.


All in all, pelvic pain affects 1 in 7 women around the world. With something so prevalent we all have to do our due diligence to spread the word about ways to improve our quality of life. If you have anything you wish to share to aid in someone's journey then please comment below!


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page